Home » Jamaica Population 2021 (Live) Full Review

Jamaica Population 2021 (Live) Full Review

 Jamaica Population 2021 (Live) Full Review

Thank you for reading this post. Don't forget to subscribe!

Jamaica Population 2021 (Live)

2,977,654
1.5M2M2.5M3M19601980200020202040206020802021YEARPOPULATION

2095
PopTotal: 1.9M

Jamaica‘s population growth remains unstable although it’s expected to increase very slowly over the next decade.

Jamaica Population Growth

Jamaica’s population growth has been fairly unstable over the last 50 years with a lot of ups and downs, including a very steep drop from 1980 to 1990. Over the past 15 years, Jamaica’s population growth has slowed dramatically and was down to 0.26% as of 2019.

Jamaica is currently seeing a decline in the 0-14 age group with an increase in the working age and retired population, the fastest growing segment, which is typical for developing countries. According to the Planning Institute of Jamaica, the country is now on track to stabilizing its growth to stay in line with United Nations recommendations.

Jamaica Population Projections

In the years to come, it is expected that the population growth rate in Jamaica will continue to slow, before beginning to slowly decline around the year 2030. Contributing factors are the fact that it expected that the net migration will remain at least -16,000 over the next 30 years and that the birth rate will continue to be under 2 children born to the average Jamaican woman. Current projections believe that the growth rate will be down to -0.62% by the year 2050 and that the population of Jamaica will be roughly 2,913,160 in 2020, 2,932,629 in 2030, before beginning to decline towards 2,858,381 in 2040 and 2,703,591 by 2050.

Population Rank
137
Growth Rate
0.46% (165th)
World Percentage
Density
275/km² (53rd)
Land Area
10,830 km²
The current population of Jamaica is 2,977,654 based on projections of the latest United Nations data. The UN estimates the July 1, 2021 population at 2,973,463.

Jamaica Growth Rate

0.50%1.00%1.50%2.00%1960197019801990200020102020YEARRATE

2005
growthRate: 0.64%

Jamaica Population 2021 (Live)

UN World Population Prospects (2019 Revision)

Jamaica Population Clock

Jamaica Population (as of 11/5/2021)2,977,654
Last UN Estimate (July 1, 2021)2,973,463
Births per Day126
Deaths per Day62
Migrations per Day-31
Net Change per Day33
Population Change Since Jan. 110,164
  • Net increase of 1 person every } 33

  • Population estimates based on interpolation of data from World Population Prospects

Jamaica Population Estimator

Estimate as of November 5, 2021 is: 2,978,466

Components of Population Change

One birth every 11 minutes
One death every 23 minutes
One net migrant every 46 minutes
Net gain of one person every 44 minutes

Jamaica Population Clock

Population

8K+

100K+

250K+

500K+

750K+

NamePopulation
Kingston937,700
New Kingston583,958
Spanish Town145,018
Portmore102,861
Montego Bay82,867
Mandeville47,115
May Pen44,755
Old Harbour26,024
Linstead20,660
Half Way Tree18,552

Jamaica Area and Population Density

Jamaica is a small island in the Caribbean Sea, but it makes up for its size with a high population density in comparison with much of the rest of the world. The total surface area is just 4,244 square miles (10,991 square kilometers) and this makes Jamaica the 160th largest nation on earth, when it comes to the geographical area.

With 2,907,300 people living there as of 2019, for every square mile of Jamaican territory, however, there is an average of 685 people (265 people per square kilometer), making it the 35th most densely populated country in the world.

Largest Cities in Jamaica

Roughly 55% of the people living in Jamaica reside in or around a major metropolitan area. 39% of Jamaica’s residents live in parish capitals, according to the 2011 census, and the population of the Kingston Metropolitan Area (KMA) and all parish capitals was 1.04 million, which is a 5% increase since 2001. KMA alone has 88% of the parishes of St. Andrew and Kingston.

The largest city in Jamaica is Kingston, the capital city. Kingston has a population of 937,700, according to 2011 estimates. The Kingston Metropolitan Area (KMA) and all parish capitals had a population of 1.041 million according to the census and, outside the KMA, the largest capital towns are Spanish Town in St Catherine (147,000) and Montego Bay (110,000). Officially, the largest cities in Jamaica are:

  • Kingston (Kingston Parish): 937,000
  • Portmore (Saint Catherine): 182,000
  • Spanish Town (Saint Catherine): 147,000
  • Montego Bay (Saint James): 110,000

Jamaica Population Density Map

Year PopulationGrowth RateDensity (km²)Population RankDensity Rank
20212,973,4630.46%274.5613753
20202,961,1670.44%273.4213853
20192,948,2790.46%272.2313852
20182,934,8470.48%270.9913952
20172,920,8480.50%269.7013953
20162,906,2360.53%268.3513952
20152,891,0210.57%266.9514052
20102,810,4600.51%259.5114051
20052,740,0030.64%253.0013850
20002,654,7010.94%245.1213652
19952,533,7110.92%233.9513452
19902,419,9060.71%223.4413349
19852,335,5101.55%215.6513242
19802,162,8461.30%199.7113241
19752,028,0161.57%187.2613141
19701,875,6421.32%173.1912941
19651,756,5111.52%162.1912739
19601,628,5201.11%150.3712639
19551,540,9561.90%142.2912237

Jamaica Population by Year (Historical)

Year PopulationGrowth RateDensity (km²)Population RankDensity Rank
20222,985,0940.44%275.6313752
20232,995,9970.41%276.6413852
20243,006,0960.39%277.5713852
20253,015,3210.36%278.4213852
20303,047,9740.22%281.4413956
20353,057,8960.07%282.3513957
20403,045,162-0.08%281.1814159
20453,011,815-0.22%278.1014259
20502,960,317-0.34%273.3414260
20552,892,029-0.47%267.0414359
20602,807,867-0.59%259.2714362
20652,709,266-0.71%250.1614466
20702,597,324-0.84%239.8314469
20752,473,541-0.97%228.4014473
20802,341,115-1.09%216.1714777
20852,204,082-1.20%203.5214781
20902,066,016-1.29%190.7715085
20951,929,039-1.36%178.1215088

Jamaica Population by Year (Projections)

Jamaica Population Pyramid 2021

010203040506070809010025K20K15K10K5K005K10K15K20K25KMaleFemale

Jamaica Median Age

26


Total

25.5


Male

26.5


Female

Jamaica Population by Age

There are 2,147,044 people over age 18 in Jamaica.

Jamaica Population Pyramid

To be precise, the latest official estimate – provided in 2014 by the Statistical Institute of Jamaica – is 2,720,554.

However, other demographers disagree, and believe that the population of Jamaica is actually considerably higher than the government believes. The CIA World Factbook, for example, had estimated that the Jamaica population in 2012 was actually 2,889,187, not the 2.7 million estimated by the Statistical Institute of Jamaica.

Jamaica has a long history of census taking, and currently holds a census every ten years. The last census took place in July 2011, which showed a total of 2,697,983 residents in the country. A 2014 estimate showed 2.72 million, while estimates for 2016 are thought to be around 2.9 million.

Depending on which estimates you use (the Jamaican government’s or the CIA Factbook), Jamaica experienced a population growth of 5 or 15% from 2001 to 2011. Still, there’s no doubt that the country is continuing to grow.

Jamaica Demographics

According to the 2001 census, Jamaica’s population is overwhelmingly of African descent, and the most common ethnic groups among Africans taken to Jamaica for slavery during the 17th century were the Akan (or Coromantee) from present-day Ghana and the Igbo people from present-day Nigeria.

The second-largest racial group is multiracial Jamaicans, many of whom have ancestors from Ireland. Still, most mixed-race people in the country self-report as just “Jamaican.”

Jamaicans of African descent represent 76.3% of the population, followed by 15.1% Afro-European, 3.4% East Indian and Afro-East Indian, 3.2% Caucasian, 1.2% Chinese and 0.8% other.

The CIA World Factbook has also provided data on age breakdowns and life expectancy. As far as age breakdowns were concerned in 2011, it was reported that 30.1% of the country’s people were aged between 0 and 14. In addition, 62.3% were between 15 and 64 years of age while 7.6% of the population of Jamaica were aged 65 and over in 2011.

In 2018, these numbers have changed little, with 27.2% between the age of 0 and 14, 20.8% between 15 and 24 years of age, and 13.85% of the population are aged older than 55. The median age is now at 26 years of age.

Life expectancy figures date from 2013 and at the time it was reported that the average across Jamaica stood at 74.4 years. This could be further divided between men at 71.8 years and women at 77.2 years. The 2018 updated figures reflect a slight drop to 73.7 years of age for total life expectancy by the World Factbook, with a division among the sexes of 72.1 years for males and 75.4 years for females.

Jamaica Religion, Economy and Politics

The religions in Jamaica are quite varied, with the population reporting religious affiliations at Protestant (includes numerous paths) with 64.8%, Roman Catholic 2.2%, Jehovah’s Witness 1.9%, Rastafarian 1.1%, other 6.5%, and no religion at 21.3% of the population.

The economy is Jamaica is highly reliant on the services sector, largely made up of a combination of remittances, tourism and mined bauxite and alumina. The economy has been growing slowly, but consistently, yet further growth is held back by the inflated public sector, and high rates of corruption, crime, and debt. Although it is less prominent now than it has been in the past, agriculture is still an important aspect of the Jamaican economy, with sugar being by far the most common export, followed by coffee, bananas, and cocoa.

Jamaica Population History

Christopher Columbus claimed the island of Jamaica in 1494, and the Spanish began inhabiting the area 15 years later, killing much of the indigenous Arawak community due to European disease exposure. Slaves were brought in from Africa to work on sugar plantations. Jamaica was captured by the British in 1655 and became officially a British territory fifteen years later in the Treaty of Madrid. An earthquake ravaged the area and killed many in 1692.

Jamaican slaves were officially freed in 1838, however, this did not mean instant stability for these people. Freed slaves staged the Morant Bay rebellion in 1865, which was quickly and violently put down by the British, forcing the local legislature to give up all of their powers. Jamaica finally became independent within the British Commonwealth in 1962. In its brief history of independence, Jamaica has seen a consistent increase in violent crime, which it continues to struggle with today.

Cities in Jamaica
Jamaica Population Rank 2021
137
2021 World Percentage
Density
270.54/km²
Area
10,991 km²
2021 Growth Rate
Capital
Kingston
Region
North America
Subregion
Caribbean
Government
Jamaica Government
GDP (IMF)
$16.72
GDP (UN)
$14.06 Bn
Where is Jamaica?
Countries starting with J

Jamaica – General Info

27 thoughts on “Jamaica Population 2021 (Live) Full Review

  1. Hi there very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I am glad to search out so many helpful information right here in the put up, we need work out extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  2. The idea of “trichotillomania” emanates from that Greek hydrogen water stick review terms “thrix, ” significance “hair” and “tillein” that means “to pull” as well as “mania, ” your Greek concept regarding “madness” or maybe “frenzy”. Because identify indicates trichotillomania is a psychiatric condition whereby somebody has a good unrestrainable desire to help take out the personal physique curly hair. If anyone else is struggling with trichotillomania, hair yanking is usually greater than a habit. It is rather your compulsive behavior, which the individual discovers very hard to halt. The cause of tricholomania should preferably be this difference regarding chemicals from the human brain.

  3. cheers for such a brilliant website. Where else could someone get that kind of information written in such a perfect way? I have a presentation that I am presently working on, and I have been on the watch out for such information.

  4. My wife and i got quite delighted that Peter could complete his homework through your precious recommendations he acquired through the weblog. It is now and again perplexing to simply find yourself giving freely tips and hints a number of people might have been making money from. And now we do know we have the website owner to give thanks to for that. Those illustrations you made, the easy blog navigation, the relationships you can aid to create – it’s all spectacular, and it is letting our son and us imagine that that theme is thrilling, and that is extremely serious. Thanks for all!

  5. Hello,I love reading through your blog, I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts.

  6. Hiya. Very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to find so much helpful information right here within the post. Thanks for sharing…

  7. What i do not realize is actually how you’re not really much more well-liked than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!

  8. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  9. The next time I just read a blog, I hope which it doesnt disappoint me just as much as brussels. After all, It was my replacement for read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to talk about. All I hear can be a number of whining about something that you could fix in the event you werent too busy trying to find attention.

  10. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Really rarely can i encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you might have hit the nail to the head. Your idea is outstanding; the problem is something not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I am delighted i found this around my look for something in regards to this.

  11. Hello there First related Article very relevant I enjoyed very , desirable watch it will speak upon Web website of Company Office Furniture Status deals promotion tasks of office furniture Implementation business office modern day . with focus on Service excellent Business furniture Status is actually company Good Israel business This particular .

  12. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you really understand what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We will have a hyperlink trade arrangement among us!

  13. Spot i’ll carry on with this write-up, I must say i think this excellent website needs far more consideration. I’ll apt to be once again to see far more, thank you for that information.

  14. The the very next time I just read a blog, I hope that this doesnt disappoint me around this place. After all, It was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have some thing intriguing to mention. All I hear is usually a number of whining about something you could fix in the event you werent too busy in search of attention.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Talk Up Di Tings Dem

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Open chat
1
Scan the code
TalkItUp WhatsApp
Hello
Do you need more information about this post ?
TalkUpDiTingsDem News Opt-In Consent Form

Thank you for choosing to stay connected with TalkItUp News Chat. By providing your consent, you agree to receive communication from us. Please take a moment to read the following information carefully before providing your consent.